Idaho america

AUTO RACING: Upcoming road races for NASCAR, F1 and IndyCar


Chase Elliott burns out after winning a NASCAR Cup Series auto race Sunday, June 26, 2022, in Lebanon, Tenn. (AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)


All times Eastern


Kwik Trip 250

Location: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.

Time: Saturday, practice, 11:30 a.m. and qualifications, 12:20 p.m.; Sunday, race, 3 p.m. (USA).

Track: Road America.

Race distance: 62 laps, 250 miles.

Last year: Chase Elliott won after starting 34th, the deepest starting point for any race winner last season.

Final Race: Elliott rallied from 25th after 120 laps and escaped on a restart with four laps to go to win in Nashville, his second victory of the season.

Fast facts: The Joe Gibbs Racing trio of pole sitter Denny Hamlin (114), Martin Truex Jr. (82) and Kyle Busch (54) combined to lead 250 of the 300 laps in Nashville, but late-race traffic relegated Busch to 21st and Truex at 22nd. … Kurt Busch finished second, followed by Ryan Blaney, Kye Larson, Ross Chastain and Hamlin. … Elliott became the fifth multiple winner in 17 events. He leads Chastain by 30 points and Blaney by 31. … The race was twice delayed by lightning, the second delay lasting more than 2 hours.

Next race: July 10, Hampton, Georgia.



Henry 180

Location: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 5:30 p.m. and qualifications, 6 p.m.; Saturday, race, 2:30 p.m. (USA).

Track: Road America.

Race distance: 45 laps, 182.16 miles.

Last year: Kyle Busch won after starting fifth.

Last race: Justin Allgaier led five times for 134 laps, won the first two stages and took the win in Nashville, his second win of the season.

In short: JR Motorsports drivers have won five of the last seven races, and Chevrolet has won all seven. JRM has also won 12 consecutive stages on oval tracks. …. AJ Allmendinger, already a two-time road winner this season, remains the series leader with 25 points over Ty Gibbs and 32 over Allgaier. …. Allmendinger’s 16th place finish was only his second outside the top 10 at 15 races. … The top five in points have all won at least twice. … Allgaier led the fastest 462 laps in the series.

Next race: July 9, Hampton, Georgia.



Last race: Ryan Preece pulled away on a restart with 10 laps to go, then withstood challenges from Zane Smith and Carson Hocevar to win in Nashville for the second straight year. Both of his wins have come in just eight career starts.

Next race: July 9, Lexington, Ohio.



British Grand Prix

Location: Silverstone, England.

Hours: Friday, practice, 8 a.m. and 11 a.m.; Saturday, practice, 7 a.m. and qualifying, 10 a.m.; Sunday, race, 10 a.m. (ESPN).

Track: Silverstone circuit.

Race distance: 52 laps, 190.263 miles.

Last year: Lewis Hamilton won after starting second.

Last race: Defending series champion Max Verstappen took from pole, his fifth win in six races and sixth overall, as the series returned to Canada after a two-year hiatus due to the pandemic.

Fast facts: Verstappen and his Red Bull teammate Sergio Perez have combined to win seven of the nine races contested so far and are 1-2 on points. Perez is 46 behind and Ferrari’s Charles LeClerc – the winner of the other two races – is 49 behind. … Hamilton, the seven-time series champion, is sixth in points.

Next race: July 10, Spielberg, Austria.



Honda Indy 200

Location: Lexington, Ohio.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 3:30 p.m.; Saturday, practice, 9:30 a.m., and qualifying, 2:45 p.m., group 1, 3:05 p.m., group 2, 3:25 p.m. and 3:45 p.m., round 2; Sunday, warm-up, 9:45 a.m., and race, 12:45 p.m. (NBC).

Track: Central Ohio Sports Car Course.

Race distance: 80 laps, 180.64 miles.

Last year: Josef Newgarden won from pole position.

Last race: Newgarden won at Road America, its third win this season, and claimed a $1 million bonus for winning on an oval, street course and road course.

Fast facts: Indy 500 champion Marcus Ericsson leads Will Power by 27 points in the standings and Newgarden, the only multiple-race winner in eight events, is 32 points behind. …. Top-three and fifth-place finisher Alex Palou, the defending series champion, has three top-three finishes. … There have been eight different pole winners.

Next race: July 17, Toronto.



Final event: Mike Salinas won in Top Fuel and Robert Hight won in Funny Car in Norwalk, Ohio.

Next event: July 15-17, Morrison, Colorado.



Upcoming events: July 1-2, New Richmond, Wisconsin.



More AP AutoRacing: and