Idaho america

DYW of Idaho for 2023 to be Nominated in Statewide Scholarship Competition

On Sunday, two high school girls from across Idaho will gather in Idaho Falls for the Distinguished Young Women of Idaho program to be held Friday and Saturday, October 7 and 8. Entrants will compete for $35,000 in college scholarships and the opportunity to represent the state as DYW of Idaho for 2023. The program is open to the public and preliminaries will begin at 7 p.m. Friday, Oct. 7 and 10 a.m. Saturday, October 7. 8. The finals will start at 7 p.m. on Saturday, October 8. Tickets will be available at the door for $15.

The 33 young women in competition will be evaluated by a jury of five judges in the following categories: scholastics (25%), maintenance (25%), talent (20%), fitness (15%) and self-expression (15%). ) . The entrant selected as a Distinguished Young Woman from Idaho will advance to the national level at the 66th DYW National Finals in Mobile, Alabama, June 22-24, 2023, where she will join 50 other representatives from across the country competing. for cash scholarships and the opportunity to represent the program as a distinguished young woman of America.

Representing Bonners Ferry on the program is Leah Moellmer.

Also participating in DYW from Idaho are: Savannah Bagley of Rigby; West Jefferson’s Jaylee Ball; Maddi Barfuss of Magic Valley; Delaney Beckner of Potlatch; Ashlynn Bishop of Kootenai County; Anna Lee Bitton of Pocatello/Chubbuck; Andi Bulkeley of South Mini-Cassia; Hannah Call of Ririe; BrynLee Carter of Boise Valley; Alyssa Crowther of Franklin County; Addie Dalling of Sugar/Salem; Hailee Daniels of Bonneville County; Elisheva Davis of Priest River; Mallory Erickson of Firth/Shelley; Hannah Evans of Caribou County; Katie Gray of Troy; Annika Huff of Lewiston; Ayva Johnson of Moscow; Abby Larsen of Snake River; Ruby Lewis of Marsh Valley; Ashton’s Blanca Mazo; Isabella Monk of Genesee; Claire Neibaur of North Mini-Cassia; Megan Orme of South Fremont; Emma Pratt of Aberdeen; Bretta Robinson of Kuna; Kassidi Scott of St. Maries; Raegan Smith of Malad; Sydney Stewart of Blackfoot; Madison’s Kiersty Sutton; Brooke Tibbitts of Teton; and Elizabeth Walker of Kendrick/Juliaetta.

Idaho’s current DYW is Kenadee Kuhn, daughter of David and Monica Kuhn of Bonneville County.

DYW was founded in 1958 and is a free program that encourages participants to reach their full individual potential. Their mission is to empower young women by providing over $1 billion in scholarship opportunities, connecting to a national women’s network, building their self-confidence, and participating in their life skills workshops. that set them up for success after high school.

National sponsors include Barbara Barrington Jones Family Foundation, Mobile County, City of Mobile, Alabama Power Foundation, Master Boat Builders, Shoe Station and the Barkin Family, Gant Travel Management, the Coffeen Family, Regions Financial Corporation, Jostens and Alabama Media Group.